Working for Tips in Texas

Working for Tips in Texas

Texas is one of the states that has the lowest tip minimum wage, $2.13.  What this means is that a restaurant or any other kind of tip minimum wage employer can hire an employee for only $2.13 an hour.  You may be thinking, how can they do that?  The minimum wage is currently $7.25.  How can they pay less than what the law says?

The way it’s supposed to work is that if an employee does not make enough money to equal out to $7.25 an hour the business is supposed to put in the balance to meet that minimum.  The problem is there are a lot of unscrupulous businesses that will ignore what they are supposed to do and there are a lot of employees who are too afraid of losing their job to make an issue about it.

This is a real problem.  It forces hardworking people to have to depend on government programs just to make ends meet.  That was never what those programs were intended for.  They weren’t supposed to be subsidy programs for businesses.  Quite often it’s young, inexperienced people who are being taken advantage of.

There’s nothing wrong with wanting a job in a field that has a tip minimum wage but you will have to watch your paychecks carefully to make sure you are receiving what you should.  You will need to keep meticulous records of your tips and you will need to be willing to go to your boss if you notice that the business did not make up the difference if you fell short.